Remote/untouristy but easily accessible caves for beginner?

Bucket_

Hello!

I hope this is the right forum to post in, mods forgive me if not.

I'm a sound designer looking to record ambiences & other sounds in a cave environment in the coming months/next year. I've been doing my best to find options from Google but I'm mostly being led to locations that seem as if they're frequented by tourists; for recording purposes I would obviously prefer to be in a spot that's mostly undisturbed by a bunch of noisy humans. Can anyone here recommend any locations that are more remote/visited less by people, but still decent sized spaces? Anywhere in the UK.

As a caveat (pun intended?) before I post, I have absolutely zero caving experience and am very much a noob when it comes to this topic, and considering that I'll have recording equipment with me, an ideal location would be something I can walk into with relative ease..

If you've read all this, thanks for your patience, any help at all would be hugely appreciated. :)

David Rose

How varied do these sounds need to be? Just echoey underground space, or water dripping, the sound of a cave stream? Any specific requirements?

aricooperdavis

What part of the country are you in? If you've no caving experience then you probably want some help, and I'm sure you'll get some volunteers in your area if you let us know where that area is.  :)

There are infrequently visited caves all over the country, and many contain areas that are easy enough to get into!

JoW

Yordas? Large cave chamber in the Yorkshire Dales which can be walked into with a light... (just be aware it will flood in times of heavy rain)

Bucket_

Wow, thanks so much for all the speedy responses firstly! Much appreciated. Wasn't sure if I'd get laughed off the board  :LOL:

David Rose said:
How varied do these sounds need to be? Just echoey underground space, or water dripping, the sound of a cave stream? Any specific requirements?